PDA

View Full Version : Clown Fish/ Blue Tailed Damsel

ReefRookie
11-06-2011, 11:42 PM
I'm new to salt water aquariums and I've purchased two fish to live in my new set up. The person at the store told me they would live well together but since then I've been told otherwise by people. The first fish is a very small clown fish about an inch in length the second is a yellow tailed damsel who is smaller yet and only half an inch in length. What I've heard is the damsel may actually kill the clown fish. They are the only two fish in the aquarium (two feet by one foot and one and a half feet high) along with a star fish and some snails. They dont seem to be aggressive towards each other at this time- but I would like to know what I should look for behavior wise to prevent any unfortunate occurrences or if anyone has an idea of how compatible they actually are together.

rastaangel
11-06-2011, 11:48 PM
Ive always had clowns and damsels together...
The catch is the damsels sometimes become very aggresive and terratorial when they get bigger

jtbadco
11-07-2011, 12:35 AM
The problem with Damsels is that they become very territorial once they are comfortable in the tank.
Adding new fish after this can be problematic.
If you added them at the same time there shouldn't be an issue.
If you ever want to add new fish, you need to do it carefully with the tank lights out.

mike31154
11-07-2011, 01:23 AM