PDA

View Full Version : Need help with overflow plumbing

Ryan_Lap
11-06-2011, 01:30 AM
Ive had my tank running for the past 3 years with the setup below. Ive never had it fail and it has generally worked well. Its running a stockman pipe. Its recently come to my attention that my setup may not exactly be "fail safe" and if the primary would become plugged for any reason (eg. snail) it would overflow. Im now worried that the tank may eventually overflow and I cant really have that happen. Any suggestions on how to make this setup with the current plumbing fail safe and silent? The back of the stand is enclosed with only a hole to access the one ball valve and changing the plumbing completely is not an option unless I empty the tank. which Id rather not completely. Any insight appreciated.

http://i43.tinypic.com/6eenh1.png

Raf
11-06-2011, 03:23 AM
not sure i understand your drawing. those are both drain lines?

globaldesigns
11-06-2011, 04:05 AM
I am no expert, but if the stockman pipe (backup or failsafe) can handle the return flow of your return pump on its own, then I wouldn't think there is an issue, unless both plug. Now if either one plumbing, CAN'T handle the return flow on its own, then yes you would potentially have a problem.

But again, as I stated, I am no expert here.

Ryan_Lap
11-06-2011, 08:47 AM
If I completely turn the ball valve in the closed position imitating a clog the stockman can't handle the flow and will over flow.

As for the drawing. The red thing is the ball valve and the circle going into the sump is a bulkhead. The over flow is an external overflow. I ideally would want to use the Herbie method, but with the 2 lines joining into one this doesn't work. Not sure what I can do from here.

Ryan_Lap
11-06-2011, 08:49 AM
not sure i understand your drawing. those are both drain lines?

Yes, both drain lines.

reefwars
11-06-2011, 09:17 AM