PDA

View Full Version : How to lower PH

Jedi68
02-10-2004, 04:08 PM
This is embarassing :redface: , but it has been a while since I have to do this. How do you lower PH? Is it vinegar??????

Son Of Skyline
02-10-2004, 04:26 PM
What's your pH at these days?

Jedi68
02-10-2004, 07:47 PM
My PH in my FRESHWATER tank is around 7.5. I have Cardinal Tetras so I want to reduce the ph to about 6. I could go out and buy the stuff from the LFS, but I am too cheap so what is the home remedy.

Son Of Skyline
02-10-2004, 08:11 PM
If you're talking household stuff then I guess vinegar would work, although I've never used it before.

6.0 is a little low don't you think? I'm sure you'd be fine with 6.5, or even neutral 7.0 for the cardinals IMO.

Beverly
02-10-2004, 09:14 PM
My PH in my FRESHWATER tank is around 7.5. I have Cardinal Tetras so I want to reduce the ph to about 6.

JMHO, but I would leave pH alone. Once you start tinkering with pH, you also alter the alkalinity of the water. If you aren't paying attention to the alk while lowering the pH, you could really upset the balance and get large daily pH swings. IME, tetras don't mind a pH of 7.5.

Scavenger
02-10-2004, 10:33 PM
7.5 is in an acceptable range. Though not optimal, the fish will adapt to it and be quite healthy and happy. If you are concerned and check the ph of your water supply. If it is lower than 7.5(ish) it is probaly something in your tank such as a rock or decoration that is causing it. As for vinigar, I don't recommend it or playing with buffers. All you will get is unstable ph that will swing wildly and stress the fish far more than a constant ph level even though high.

Aquattro
02-10-2004, 11:04 PM
The tannins released from a chuck of mopani wood should drop the pH a bit. Of course the water will be brown, but tetras are from that environment anyway. Soaking it first for a week removes a lot of this coloring. Just a thought...

Old Guy
02-11-2004, 12:09 AM