PDA

View Full Version : Interpret my test results please !


Acipenser
10-27-2011, 09:06 PM
P.H. 8.0
ammonia 0.25 ppm
nitrites 0.0 ppm
nitrates 10 ppm ,did this test twice

jorjef
10-27-2011, 09:10 PM
Looks good to me but you will get a dozen answers and questions that will have you drowning in information overload...If the tank is new add a fish wait a few weeks, repeat.

If you're still nervous wait for the ammonia to drop some more.

reefwars
10-27-2011, 09:26 PM
Looks good to me but you will get a dozen answers and questions that will have you drowning in information overload...If the tank is new add a fish wait a few weeks, repeat.

If you're still nervous wait for the ammonia to drop some more.



dont add anyfish if there is amonia not trying to step on any toes but there should be a showing of no amonia if your going to add fish whether its a new tank or a tank 20yrs old.

amonia is deadly toxic to fish in even just small amounts.


if its a new tank just set up wait for the amonia to dissapearand then wait another week. if its an older tank then you have an issue more than likey with something dieing or something rotting:)

jorjef
10-27-2011, 09:33 PM
dont add anyfish if there is amonia not trying to step on any toes but there should be a showing of no amonia if your going to add fish whether its a new tank or a tank 20yrs old.

amonia is deadly toxic to fish in even just small amounts.


if its a new tank just set up wait for the amonia to dissapearand then wait another week. if its an older tank then you have an issue more than likey with something dieing or something rotting:)


Better safe than sorry...:biggrin:

Cal_stir
10-27-2011, 10:16 PM
ammonia and nitrite should be 0, if this is a new tank then it has not yet cycled, be patient and when you do add livestock do it slowly and allow the tank to adjust

Myka
10-28-2011, 02:41 AM
Is this an established tank or a new tank?

If it is new then the cycle is not over yet. If it is established then you need to double check the accuracy of the ammonia kit by testing with a different kit. If the tank does have ammonia at 0.25 ppm that is quite significant, and could permanently damage your fish's gills. You need to add an ammonia detoxifier (like AmQuel or Prime), and then find out the cause of the ammonia.

Acipenser
10-28-2011, 03:08 AM
New tank : as of Sunday

Myka
10-28-2011, 03:22 AM
You have lots of waiting to do then...prob another couple weeks at least. You will need to practice patience. :D