PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning skimmer collection cup?

Son Of Skyline
06-26-2002, 12:50 PM
How do you guys clean out your skimmer collection cups? I've been periodically flushing it with clean water but I've been leaving alot of the scum that sticks to the sides. I can't seem to reach in there enough to clean the sides out. Is it ok to just leave it and just keep flushing? Sorry for the newbie question...I'm still new to this skimming thing (I've been skimmerless up until recently). Thanks in advance...

Aquattro
06-26-2002, 12:59 PM
Mason, what type of skimmer do you have? That would determine how to clean it. I use a bottle brush to clean mine.

Son Of Skyline
06-26-2002, 01:02 PM
Originally posted by Reef_Raf:
Mason, what type of skimmer do you have? That would determine how to clean it. I use a bottle brush to clean mine.<font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">Thanks for the quick reply Brad. Currently I'm using a HOB skimmer, but I'm also thinking of the future if I'm going to use an in-sump skimmer. It seems like it's going to be very awkward to clean a collection cup in the tight confines of my stand.

Aquattro
06-26-2002, 01:07 PM
Mason, the cup comes of the skimmer. Take it to the kitchen sink and clean it with a brush. You don't need to clean it while it's in the sump!

Son Of Skyline
06-26-2002, 02:16 PM
Originally posted by Reef_Raf:
Mason, the cup comes of the skimmer. Take it to the kitchen sink and clean it with a brush. You don't need to clean it while it's in the sump!<font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">Heheh...Thanks Brad smile.gif

I don't actually have an in-sump skimmer yet, and the cup doesn't come off my HOB skimmer. One of my reefing mysteries solved...9999 to go ;)

Mak
06-26-2002, 03:39 PM
I give mine a brush, and then use a spray bottle with hot water. It cleans out very good. HTH

canadawest
06-26-2002, 05:44 PM