PDA

View Full Version : ID Please

Beanz
10-12-2011, 06:10 PM
Hey all, I have a bunch of different algae growing in my tank and am looking for an ID for them and maybe some critters that will eat them up.

Algae #1
http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/picture.php?albumid=583&pictureid=4748

Algae # 2 (kinda looks like ferns)
http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/picture.php?albumid=583&pictureid=4747

Algae #3 (just one stalk looking type piece in my tank)
http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/picture.php?albumid=583&pictureid=4746

I also have a bunch of HA. Will an emerald crab b my best bet for cleaning it up with an animal?

RESONANCE
10-12-2011, 07:47 PM
*Disclaimer: I'm not a scientist, just a hobbyist and these are my best guesses. LOL.

Algae#1: Caulerpa peltata amongst alot of hair algae.

Algae#2: Looks like some form of fern caulerpa (let it grow bigger if you want a positive i.d.) and you may have some bryopsis in amongst those hair algae.

Algae#3: I forgot the name... if you don't like macro algae (or just this one) I would suggest you chip of the piece of rock it's rooted on, other wise I have heard this type spreads pretty aggressively given the chance.

*edit:
Mexican turbo snails will eat your hair algae well enough. There's also lettuce nudibrachs, they may also eat the caulpera.

BMahura
10-12-2011, 09:26 PM
Im not 100% sure what types they are but they look like pretty standard algae. I have had lots of luck with Mexican turbo snails as well as a lawnmower blenny. helped clean up my tank and is by far my favorite fish

ponokareefer
10-12-2011, 09:54 PM
I'd be looking for the cause of the algae rather than something just to eat it up. How big is your tank, what do you have in it for occupants, how much do you feed, do you use reverse osmosis water or tap water, how much live rock do you have, how old is your tank?

paddyob
10-12-2011, 10:21 PM
I'd be looking for the cause of the algae rather than something just to eat it up.

+1.

Beanz
10-12-2011, 11:25 PM