PDA

View Full Version : Newbie

figdish
10-10-2011, 01:44 AM
Hi all, I am new to saltwater tho have been running freshwater of all types for years. I have googled, been to every fishstore in town and have been givin all sorts of info. I have a 30 gal that was already established when I received, have added a few fish and some live rock. I was told that a back filter is sufficient for this size of tank but my water looks slightly cloudy even after 25% changes.
What is a nano, what is a sump pump and what do I need?
If anyone can advise what type of filters, sumps or whatever it is I need I would be greatly appreciative.
Also I have some algae/fungus that I am not sure if nuisance or to leave it.
How long does it take before you start seeing growth on live rock. Can I introduce plants? What fish will not eat what plants? How many fish in saltwater is too much for 30 gal?
So many questions, so little time.:question:
thanks again for any/all advise
figdish

wingedfish
10-10-2011, 02:45 AM
Your algae is aptasia, (get rid of it) and you already have too many fish for a thirty gallon.

A sump is a tank under the display to hide the ugly stuff, nano means small, it is debatable on where to draw the line between small and nano. You can add plants whenever you want, most fish will eat them, depending on the plant.

You can get by with a simple canister on a small tank with fish only but with time your going to want more, and bigger.....

syncro
10-10-2011, 03:28 AM
There is a ton of great info in this forum and others like nano-reef.com or reefcentral.com. However, it will take many hours to mine all the information you need. I suggest a good book like:
The Reef Aquarium, Vol. 3: Science, Art, and Technology (http://www.amazon.com/Reef-Aquarium-Vol-Science-Technology/dp/1883693144/ref=pd_sim_b2) to get all the basics.

abcha0s
10-10-2011, 03:38 AM
I have googled, been to every fishstore in town and have been givin all sorts of info.