PDA

View Full Version : Pruning Xenia and Colt Coral

Blue Ram
08-31-2011, 06:02 PM
I've read through some info on the forum and the net about pruning. The coral I need to prune is taking over liverock that my clam is attached to. What is the best way to prune the xenia and not put my clam at risk? I'd like to remove a couple of large areas right off the rock altogether. If I keep the rock submerged in water and make cuts with a razor blade will that work? I've never done any pruning before but I see several new sprouts of xenia appearing where I don't want them. What does everyone do with the xenia that you remove? Are any of the Calgary retailers willing to take them?

Can the colt coral be cut and removed without taking it out of the display tank?

Thanks in advance,

fishytime
08-31-2011, 06:32 PM
It's best to do any fragging outside of the tank whenever possible ..... Especially Xenia and Kenya.... Any little bit that happens to float away on you will likely sprout off new colonies....if you want the Xenia gone, then you will have to take some rock off with it..... Again any little remnants will grow.....do it in a bucket of water change water and then discard it....

FitoPharmer
08-31-2011, 09:27 PM
You can grow the corals on LR rubble and break it up by tearing the coral when it grows onto a few difference pieces. They are so hardy any little bits will start a new colony. You could frag like that without having to remove them from the tank. But I think fishytime is right about the dangers of fragging xenia especially in tank. I guess it depends on if you are worried it will take over or not.

toytech
08-31-2011, 10:08 PM
If your not worried about a take over you can cut them both with scissors or razors .

Blue Ram
08-31-2011, 10:23 PM
I was hoping there was a way to completely remove some of the tissue from the liverock so it simply does not grow back again but it sounds like that is not possible?

MKLKT
08-31-2011, 10:49 PM