PDA

View Full Version : need electricians assistance, GVRD [bby]

smokinreefer
08-19-2011, 05:17 AM
hey,

a while back i was looking for some quick connect fittings to make extension cords for my MH ballasts.

well i found some, and tried to put them together myself, and well... i did a hack job.

plugging them in trips the GFCI.

was wondering if there was an electrician among us that could help me out putting these extensions together.

of course i would compensate you, some pocket change for an easy job, or frags if i have something you want.

just let me know, thanks!

reefermadness
08-19-2011, 12:45 PM
I'm not an electrician but what are the colours you are trying to match up?

wingedfish
08-19-2011, 01:03 PM
white to the silver screw, black to the copper one and green to the green one

reefermadness
08-19-2011, 01:39 PM
white to the silver screw, black to the copper one and green to the green one

You just explained an outlet...he is trying to put two cables together I believe.

If they have the same colour wires (ie.black,white,green) than simple logic is to just match them up.....if they have different colours well than its a little more complicated.

davefrombc
08-19-2011, 02:27 PM
It depends on the fixture but normally the colours coming from a unit are black , white and green. If you are tripping a GFI, I suspect you have the neutral wire ( normally white and to the silver screw on a plug or socket ) and the safety ground ( normally green , but may be a bare wire in some fixtures with wires meant to go to a box rather than an extension cord) switched. Power wire goes to the bronze screw in a plug or socket on an extension cord or wall socket .

smokinreefer
08-19-2011, 06:12 PM
yes, the cord has black, white and green.
it's been a couple weeks since i attempted this, i'll open them up and take a look at what mess i gone done! lol.

thanks for the input. i'll get back to you guys!

smokinreefer
10-01-2011, 02:07 AM