PDA

View Full Version : Help with goniopora... doesnt look good.

kam
07-21-2011, 05:06 PM
hey guys,

Ive been reading on here for awhile now but have not posted.
I recently picked up a nice yellow goniopora from a LFS in Calgary and it was doing great up until the last couple days.

It looks like a jelly type membrane peeling off of it from the bottom.. and Im starting to see some skeleton! Im really worried about it and am wondering if you guys can help me figure out whats going on. My water perimeters seem fine and I supplement with ZEOVit CoralSnow and ZEOvit Pohl's Coral Vitalizer. Im still very new to this (4yrs) and have had my 125gal FOWLR tank running for the last three years with just adding coral recently.

Anyways... I'll post pics. These were taken with my phone so brace yourselves..

http://inlinethumb25.webshots.com/46168/2051366940095286657S425x425Q85.jpg

http://inlinethumb06.webshots.com/49349/2201021410095286657S425x425Q85.jpg

kam
07-21-2011, 05:09 PM
http://inlinethumb57.webshots.com/47224/2201021410095286657S600x600Q85.jpg

lastlight
07-21-2011, 05:20 PM
That's pretty common with those I believe. Poor survival rate. I had one in my very first reef tank and it looked exactly the same while it slowly died... only difference was mine was purple.

I'm amazed that rock is 3 years old... not a spot of purple?

kam
07-21-2011, 05:26 PM
Are you talking about the rock its on lacking coraline? They are mostly purple. I have been having a problem keeping that algae off my rocks lately. You can see it in the picture. Im sure i'll be posting something about that too.

freezetyle
07-21-2011, 05:31 PM
gonipora are kind of tricky. mine didn't open up until i found the right amount of flow and a lowered the intensity of light.

lastlight
07-21-2011, 05:46 PM
Im sure i'll be posting something about that too.

I guess that's the charm of this hobby. Always some crisis to keep things 'fun' lol.

kam
07-21-2011, 07:19 PM