PDA

View Full Version : Xenia,anthelia, kenya tree problem.

zum14
07-13-2011, 09:30 PM
Hello, been away for a bit, summer and all, well what were getting for one anyways. So as a newb my first frag was xenia, i got some kenya tree and anthelia along the way, and well now we have a problem. I said "oh ill keep up on fragging them" like anyone does and well i did, only problem is that everytime i cut, a small piece would get away, settle and start growing, and everytime i cut it down to the rock it grows back larger. Now were into plauge proportions. If i cut it, it grows, if i leave it, it grows. Between the three its spread pretty bad and ive thought about torching but that would only cause a cylce as its too much area and it would take multiple attempts im sure. Ive thought about a tank change and leaving the rock in the sump but am not ready for that. Im also thinking of selling the corals and few fish and cooking the rock for a while as im having trouble finding enough time to properly enjoy and take care of the tank. a small hiatus may rekindle the excitement. Anyone have any ideas?

ScubaSteve
07-13-2011, 10:01 PM
Feel for ya dude. I was in the same boat for a while and got rid of 90% of my xenia as it was taking over. Even rebuilt my tank and scrubbed the rocks... now there is a patch growing back in the prime SPS spot and ****ing everything off... Gotta go in and nuke it again. I'm even thinking of adding some xenia-eating nudibranches if I can find them.

But don't give up hope just yet! I too felt like you and was about a day away from from saying "F it all" and giving up. Get a buddy over to help ya, get some cases of beer and so a major rebuild, clean everything, scrub the rocks... get a fresh start. It'll take a few weeks for things to stabilize again but your tank will look awesome after and you'll be in love again! It's like a second honeymoon with your tank...

cathyg_99
07-14-2011, 12:27 AM