PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone ever used Featherock for base rock?

cc_bruno
01-23-2004, 10:53 PM
I'm just wondering if anyone has ever used or heard of someone using featherock as base rock? One of the local landscaping places carries it, and they say that it's chemically neutral. Here is a link to it:

http://www.landscapecentre.com/featherock.htm

Can anyone think of a reason to not use it? I'm new to the hobby and I'm trying to save a buck or two so that I can put that money towards other equipment, (skimmer, MH lights, etc). Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Rob

Reef_kid
01-23-2004, 11:14 PM
this feather rock is great for landscarping but the problem with it is that it is so light and porouse that it floats!!
i have used it for landscaping.. and thought about using it as base rock
althought because it is volcanic rock it may release many toxins into the water and the fact that it floats !!!
so it is better to go with the real thing !!
you can get tufa from some places for very cheep but you have to phone around!!
cheers
dave

cc_bruno
01-23-2004, 11:34 PM
Thanks for the info. Ok, I'll see if I can find some tufa, and use that instead. It's too bad, as it looks nice and it's $0.37 / lbs. so you can't beat the price.

If anyone here knows of a place that sales tufa, please let me know, and thanks again for your help.

Rob

apepper
01-23-2004, 11:40 PM
I was told that Sanderson & Sons Nursery carries Rocky Mountain Tufa

Sanderson & Sons Nursery
4635-60B St.
Delta, BC
604-946-6210

cc_bruno
01-24-2004, 12:14 AM
Just got off of the phone with them and they do have it in stock, ($0.50 / lbs). Thanks for the info. I'll be heading over there tomorrow to pick some up and give it a try. Thanks again for your help.

Rob

martym
01-24-2004, 12:52 AM