PDA

View Full Version : First Corals

Azzkr
07-09-2011, 10:37 PM
Hi There I am New to The Saltwater tanks and i was wondering what are some good first corals to grow in a tank. Hardy ones are better for me i work out of town lots

BMahura
07-09-2011, 10:46 PM
Some good corals to start with are zoanthids and mushrooms. Both are very hardy and have great growth. As well you could try some green star polyp (GSP)

RedCoralLethbridge
07-09-2011, 10:46 PM
Hey Mike

Definitely some zoathids, some LPS coral such as Torch, Frogspawn, or Hammer. They are great beginner corals and are very hardy. Welcome to Canreef!! :biggrin:

Craig
Red Coral Lethbridge

phi delt reefer
07-09-2011, 11:01 PM
Mushrooms and gsp and pulsating xenia can quickly over take a tank and turn into a pest so be careful with them. Zoos are great for they come in a million colors and relatively cheap.

jorjef
07-10-2011, 12:00 AM
If you don't have early success don't give up... All the mentioned corals are are what most people call common "beginner" corals, but every tank is different. In my experience I have never been able to keep Zoas, I think I have one head remaining, any mushroom covered rock I get ultimately sheds all the mushrooms. Some relocate some just waste away and as far as Zenia goes it just shrivels and disinegrates. Go figure.. I do have and they seem to be thriving are Duncans, donuts, fox coral, brains, plates, torchs, hammer feather dusters, and rics. You will fail with some corals,everyone does but once you find what works in your tank you will be set.

skabooya
07-10-2011, 12:11 AM
Some very good posts above.
duncans, zoas, palys, hammer, candycane, torch, frogspawn, leather, gsp, mushrooms except st Thomas mushroom, rics, feather duster worms, and I must suggest decorative macro algae just because I love them :)

Azzkr
07-10-2011, 12:36 AM
perfect thanks i think i going to get some zoas first for sure to try out. to attach corals i see you just use modeling clay?

daniella3d