PDA

View Full Version : starting a reefers clud at work. Please read.

BCReefer
06-12-2002, 07:48 PM
I would like to get your input on a Marine Club that I am starting a general reef club at my company. I am far from an expert but I thought starting a group like this would be fun and give me an opportunity for me to introduce people to the hobby and start pushing them in the right direction, which is what you fine ladies and gentlemen did for me.

Would it be possible for some people to send me pictures of their equipment and tanks etc so I can use them as over heads. My idea is as follows:

1. Introduction to marine keeping.
 Books to read
 Show pictures of general set ups
 Difference between FOWLR and a coral tank
 General costs – people should know this in the early stages
 Personal benefits of having tank, relaxing, learning, promoting environmental concerns.
2. Planning the tank
 Size
 Placement
 New vs. used
 What do you want in the tank i.e. corals and fish
 Equipment
 Sumps etc
 lighting
3. Starting a tank
 Cycling
 Aquascaping
4. Adding fish
 How to pick the fish
 How to climatise
 Hospital tanks
5. Adding corals
 How to picks corals
 How to add the coral to tank
6. Monthly maintenance
 How and why
 What to test

This wold not be done in 1 day and I would follow mostly what I have read in this forum and others plus the books that I would recommend.

As I stated that by far I am not even close to an expert but I know there are a few reefers in the company so I hope they can help out. Plus I will tell all about Canreef and other forums.

If everything goes well and I get a good turn out I would like to propose to my company that we set up a tank in the main foyer. Something in the 70 – 120 gallons and it would promote a environmental message which is what the company I work for (Ballard) is all about.