PDA

View Full Version : To Egg Crate or not?

Steve'o
06-04-2011, 03:29 PM
I'm at a stage in my tank build .. and yes I am new to this so looking for some advice from this community. Should i put eggcrate on the bottomm of my tank before adding in sand and my dry rocks?
thanks all,
Steve'o

Delphinus
06-04-2011, 03:37 PM
Some folks do, but FWIW I've never bothered. I sit the rocks on the glass first, then add the sand after. If you put the rocks on the sand then they'll shift around over time.

RuGlu6
06-04-2011, 03:52 PM
I'm at a stage in my tank build .. and yes I am new to this so looking for some advice from this community. Should i put eggcrate on the bottomm of my tank before adding in sand and my dry rocks?
thanks all,
Steve'o

also you need some slow water flow through the substrate. with an eggcrate you will restrict that flow and potentially stagnent the sand bed especially if you have more the 4"of sand (will also depend on particle size).

So rocks 1st, then sand 2nd is a good advice.

Twinn
06-04-2011, 05:14 PM
+1 on the put the rock down first and then the sand.

As far as egg crate goes I looked over the information before starting my tank build and decided to do no egg crate. I did this because I want all the good little critters in the sand that stir the sand and eat algae, debries to be able to move through the sand. If your sand has egg crate in it parts of your sand will just become traps for all the bad stuff that builds up in sand.

On a side note everyone has heard of rock cracking the bottom panel of glass hence the reason to use egg crate but, I dont know anyone that has ever had this happen to them.

viperfish
06-04-2011, 05:42 PM