PDA

View Full Version : Newbie

Lonster
05-25-2011, 10:51 PM
Hey everyone, I've been researching starting a saltwater tank for a few months now and I'm finally ready to start buying hardware and putting things together. I have a few questions I would like to ask that I have no idea about.

I am looking at doing a 90 gallon tank (there is a perfect spot in my kitchen that will fit a 4 footer really nicely). I know this is an expensive hobby and will probably start with a mix of used and new equipment to help keep my startup costs low. I'm ok with spending money for quality stuff, but the more $$$ the longer I'm going to have to save up.

I've been looking around some of the places in town and I am considering going with a used tank that is in good condition if I can. The first question I have is if I get a tank that is not drilled or have overflows, how difficult and how expensive is it to get this done?

Thanks,

Lonster

Dive_dry
05-25-2011, 10:56 PM
you don't have to drill the tank you can use a CPR over flow up to you or something similar

Lonster
05-25-2011, 11:04 PM
There's not enough room behind the tank for anything to go over the back. I would like to use a durso standpipe to drain to the sump.

Lonster

ensquire
05-25-2011, 11:54 PM
You can buy the bits and drill it yourself, Lots of reading material on here that will help.
I have drilled and cut my tank, and if you take your time it is no problem.

mark
05-26-2011, 02:23 AM
Seen diamond hole saw sets at Princess Auto for around $50. Largest size might not be big enough but gives an idea that there not a whole lot of money. I've even drilled a 20 and 33g just using a Demel diamond bit.

You definitely want to drill, but might consider drilling 2 holes for your drain so you can run a Herbie (or 3 holes for a Beananimal drain). You'll find Durso can be quiet, but a Herbie is silent plus the advantage of no bubbling/gurgling in the sump.

Lonster
05-27-2011, 08:52 PM