PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed please

Steve'o
05-25-2011, 03:58 PM
Hi everyone, I'm pretty new to all this and bought a used system on the weekend. Just starting to get it setup and needed some advice on the plumbing the guy had done.. see attached file? Is this ok for my FWLR reef setup that I am going to start? Is a 90 gal tank with an eshopps sump. I am going to replace the ball valve he had with a gate from some advice I got from another member, who also told me to get rid of the bio balls .. and just use Live Rock. Do you all agree? I have a skimmer also that will sit in the same area as the pump.
I would gather I will have the heater in the sump.. correct?
Appreciate any advice I can get from this knowledge base here.
Thanks all.
Steve'o

ponokareefer
05-25-2011, 05:25 PM
I'd agree to get rid of the bioballs. You can use live rock, but I wouldn't put it in the same spot as the bioballs as they will fill up with dietris.

I would get some filter socks and place them over the plumbing that comes into the sump. You will need to change them out every few days(I change out mine twice a week) and wash the dirty ones.

And yes, it is preferable to put the heater in the sump.

Steve'o
05-25-2011, 06:33 PM
Thanks for the advice..
ok stupid question here ..
would the socks attache directly to the drain pipes?
Or would they mount on the sump as I have seen pics of and have the drain lines drop into them.. ?? Probably either way is ok I would guess.
And if no LR in the one section than everything is in the bigger side of the sump... LR, Pump, and skimmer? correct
Thanks again,
Steve

Slick Fork
05-25-2011, 07:41 PM
Definitely get rid of the bioballs.

I would add some live rock to the main area of your sump, personally I wouldn't frown on putting it where the bioballs are but that's just me. I don't run filter socks, not because I don't think they work... I'm just not willing to change them every few days and if you can't change them then they become problematic.