PDA

View Full Version : Starting first reef tank in winfield. Any help?

Guy Mannington
05-16-2011, 08:32 PM
Hi I have 15 years experience with fresh water aquariums and none with salt water. my plan for now is to load my tank with 50 pounds of marco rock and substrate and order a coraline booster card from indo pacific, http://www.ipsf.com/ (they havent got back to me if they ship to canada) and then wait and watch.I am only doing this because i do not want to spend crazy amounts on live rock when i enjoy watching the tank come to life just the same.
I think I will still be wanting about another 50lbs of live rock, but i may try making my own from a you tube recipe http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zFPebEdEoMA does this look about right to you?

I still need a sump that will fit in my stand,live rock if the price is right,live sand, a led light for the sump/refugium, a 48" light,AS MUCH HELP AS YOUR WILLING TO GIVE,and when the time comes frags and what not.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

RedCoralOnlineStore
05-16-2011, 09:40 PM
Welcome to Canreef! Enjoy the tank build up! You will find loads of useful information here!
Just my opinion, but you will achieve exactly the same result by adding one or two small pieces of live rock to your Marco rock! (booster card not needed) Given time all live organisms will spread and multiply into your Marco rock (Great choice by the way!) That is the best part is watching all the little critters start to appear!
Have fun! :smile:

cathyg_99
05-16-2011, 09:54 PM
i agree just throw in one or two nicely covered live pieces and it will start to spread in no time, im only 4 months in and already scraping coraline off the glass in my tank (little bits) but its coming

corrosionjerry
05-17-2011, 01:07 AM
I also agree / I started with about 40lbs of live rock ... purchased from a member selling extra and added about 80lbs of eco reefer rock... 4 months later most of my rock has nice coraline growth....

Guy Mannington