PDA

View Full Version : 700 gph pump

spawn
05-14-2011, 03:22 AM
I had a rio 2100 that was giving me 690 gph @ 1' & the impeller seems to have gone on it. Contrary to popular belief this pump worked awesome for me, it was quiet & contributed sfa for heat. I can't find one in town right now & am using a spare rsm thats only giving me about 600, not enough. Just wondering if anyone can recommend a good comparable. Thx.:question:

Palmer
05-14-2011, 03:11 PM
I'm with you I love Rio pumps although I have mainly used them for freshwater. I have one I have been using since 1998 and other than replacing the impeller recently it works great. I think I got my replacement from Big Als Online. Once replacing the impeller it works like new again.

I use a Danner Mag 18 on my SW and I have found it equally dependable so far. I would buy a new Mag in a heartbeat.

Also I have no experience with them but everybody raves about eheim pumps.

nlreefguy
05-14-2011, 03:26 PM
I had a rio 2100 that was giving me 690 gph @ 1' & the impeller seems to have gone on it. Contrary to popular belief this pump worked awesome for me, it was quiet & contributed sfa for heat. I can't find one in town right now & am using a spare rsm thats only giving me about 600, not enough. Just wondering if anyone can recommend a good comparable. Thx.:question:

Eheims are awesome. Quiet, reliable, energy efficient. Replacing the impeller is costly but shouldn't need to do it anyway (mine is around 7 years old and still has original impeller). You'd prob need to get the 1262 though and the cost wil be up there compared to the Rio.

nlreefguy
05-14-2011, 03:30 PM
on the other hand, you could try the eheim compact+ 3000 model. I've never used them so I'm not sure if they're up to the same standard as the older eheims but if they are, they're an awesome value.

Palmer
05-14-2011, 03:32 PM