PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Questions

mikeo2
05-13-2011, 07:58 PM
Hi all,

Fantastic site. Im a complete newby to saltwater aquariums and want to start one but do not know where to start. Whats a decent starter size for saltwater just to have a few colourful fish to start to see if its for me and then upgrade in the future. Whats it going to cost for a rough startup to get one going? I have some freshwater experience but like I said, this saltwater stuff is new to me so any advice would be very much appreciated.

imcosmokramer
05-13-2011, 08:05 PM
wow...that's really open-ended. How much room do you have and how much money do you have :)

Certainly, the setup for a FOWLR is much different than a full blown reef. You'll have to weigh the cost of re-purchasing (better lights, filtration, flow, etc) if you want to upgrade

mikeo2
05-13-2011, 08:09 PM
haha I guess that is kind of open ended. I have plenty of room but dont want to break the bank on my first attempt at this saltwater stuff, I know its fairly expensive in general but just dont want to be dropping like 2 or 3000 to start if possible.

imcosmokramer
05-13-2011, 08:16 PM
ok, could you give me a "reasonable" size for you to start with? also, I would buy stuff used!

toytech
05-15-2011, 04:07 AM
Get a used 50 gal long (48 inches ) run a 4 or 6 bulb t5 unit , you can do without a sump and skimmer if you keep the fish list short or have small fish . Wrasses are great , gobys and blennies have tons of personality .This is what im running right now , was my first tank and have had it for 5 years now . With the t5s you can have all kinds of corals zoas , softies and lps . Just troll the equipment section and get everything used and you should be able to have a good tank for about a grand or less.

Sea Witch
05-15-2011, 04:23 AM