PDA

View Full Version : skimmers

hunggi74
05-12-2011, 10:19 PM
What are the advantages and disadvantages of an external protein skimmer as opposed to an internal one? Looking at purchasing one for my 57G Oceanic (will purchase sump after to accomodate skimmer so total water volume will be around 75G). Which skimmers are the best buys for this volume?

Aquaria
05-12-2011, 11:03 PM
I'm no expert but I think the only diff is looks and weither u want to have a sump or not for example the aqua c skimmers remora and urchin are the same just one was designed to hang on the back an the other to sit in the sump but essentially it's the exact same skimmer I'm sure someone knows more then me and will chime in soon

Jewel
05-12-2011, 11:36 PM
Well a hang-on doesn't require a sump, An inline will save you room in your sump for other things such as a Fuge or GFO reactor and it won't cause any unessary heat, I've always had a Sump mostly because I'd rather everything in a water tight tank, less hassles that way.There are lots of good skimmers out there just remember you get what you pay for

Maverick00
05-13-2011, 01:25 AM
I've always had a Sump mostly because I'd rather everything in a water tight tank, less hassles that way

That was my biggest concern as well. A month after I set up the sump my old super skimmer starting overflowing up and above the collection cup. Luckily i had it setup inside the sump rather than on the back of the display where it was for almost 10 months. Phew. Ive only had experiance with the Coralife SS, Remora, and Vertex In. Other than a mild hum and slight air noise from the Vertex, Its defiantly been the most consistent and effective skimmer ive owned so far. Price was also reasonable sitting somewhere around the 200$ mark.

fencer
05-13-2011, 01:43 AM
Depending on $ $$ skimz or BMagnus

viperfish
05-13-2011, 01:51 AM
There are three main styles:

Hang On Back (HOB or HOT):
-Least efficient
- Greater risk of flooding if (when) it overflows