PDA

View Full Version : JOKERS 29Gallon Biocube

JOKERacing
05-10-2011, 04:09 PM
Hi everyone. I am new to the aquatic world. We just recently purchased a biocube and have got it setup for saltwater fish.

I have a few questions and any suggestions to a newbie would be greatly appreciated.

My setup is all stock with what came in the box. I have not removed the bio balls and i am running the stock filter.

My salinity is at 102.6
i have live sand and about 20lbs of live rock.
I also have a heater and its set to 79 degrees.

Do i have to change the water every week even though all I have is the live rock in there?

When would it be safe to put in some bottom feeders and then fish

thank you for any help or suggestions

riceboy
05-10-2011, 05:43 PM
lol you will if your salinity is 102.6 lol

freakshow
05-10-2011, 07:30 PM
i would set the heater slightly higher and change a 5 gallon bucket of water mixed with salt a week.Pick the hardiest saltwater fish you can find like a damsel and wait a few months and add a few more fish and wait 2 more months unless your rock is already cured---you got it from a tank that has been running well for a while. Then just add 2-3 smaller fish. You'll want to have a few nice looking fish up to 4 or 5, 3 to 4 inches long. Don't overcrowd and keep your bioload low in that small of a tank and you'll be fine. I have the same tank myself and it's a saltwater reef tank and i love it.

JOKERacing
05-10-2011, 07:49 PM
sorry i meant 1.026

please excuse any mistakes here. I am completely new to this.

JOKERacing
05-11-2011, 02:55 AM
i bought the rock from JL aquarium. I am not sure if the rock is cured or not?

So how long should i wait before i add my first fish?

I guess i need to put in some crabs or snails first before i add the fish?

thanks

riceboy
05-11-2011, 04:25 AM