PDA

View Full Version : newbie... any advice?

Reef Puffer
04-26-2011, 04:58 PM
hi guys, im new to this sw stuff. been a fw guy for years. i have always wanted to get into the sw hobby..... so i drained my fresh water, built me a sump.... and now im on my way. i find my biggest obstacle to be finding supplies. i live in the shuswap/okanagan and it took me a month to find a simple return pump. LR is around 10$/lbs (and that means driving an hour to the lps). and nobody really even knows what their talking about. any ways, i have a 33gal main and a 15ish gal sump. everything just sitting here with salt water circulating. can the system just run like that with nothing in it but dead rock/coral? i figure another good month before i can afford LR at 10$lb. also does anyone know the best place for supplies and advice between kamloops and kelowna. anything else anyone would like to add that might be helpful to a newbie would b greatly appreciated thanx.

ALang
04-26-2011, 05:46 PM
Leah at Coral Reef Aquariums is in Penticton, maybe she could help you out on supplies.
As for live rock, someone is always selling off their system, ans blowing LR for about $5/lb, so be patient, and you may have to travel a little far for around your area.
Look in the For Sale Forum on this board, maybe you can find someone selling theirs closer to where you are.
Good luck, and welcome to Canreef!

mseepman
04-26-2011, 05:52 PM
Welcome to Canreef...you've made the first good step in the whole SW process by getting on this site.

As a fellow Okanagan reefer...you will be up for some challenges but with group buys and patience...I think you can put it all together for a reasonable price when you need to.

I work a lot but feel free to PM me on some suggestions for your tank and for help in the area. :)

ensquire
04-26-2011, 06:17 PM