PDA

View Full Version : small refugium.. what to go in it?

asylumdown
04-22-2011, 07:07 AM
I just received an Aquafuge 2 refugium from CPR Aquatic (the small size from J&L) and I'm wondering what sort of macroalgae I should put in it? My 20 gallon nano has a problem with grape caulerpa that I think would quickly gum up the insides with it's snaky vines, so I'm hoping to grow something that can out compete it.

It's a softy tank and I don't dose any calcium or alk, so I don't wan anything that will require additives.

ETA: I've never used a fuge before, I've also go the lights that come with it and am not sure if I should leave them on 24/7 or if I should have them on opposite the main tank lights. Do different macros require different light cycles?

Aquaria
04-22-2011, 04:29 PM
Anyone else can chime in on where I'm wrong but I think it should be on opposite of your tank so your ph don't swing at night and also because even algae needs rest. Also I hear cheato is the easiest to grow but I'm no expert

hound96
04-22-2011, 04:36 PM
+1 cheato

Jewel
04-22-2011, 04:48 PM
+2 For the Cheato, as far as your lighting schedule 24/7 is ok, I'd put some rock rubble in there as well

asylumdown
04-23-2011, 02:47 AM
sweet, anyone know where to get some chaeto?

FishyFishy!
04-23-2011, 02:55 AM
I have a tonne I can give you. Give me a holler if you want some.

I personally love doing a deep sand bed, then live rock rubble, then cheato. Works like a charm. I had a aquaclear 110 fuge mod on 2 10 gallon nanos, and they were amazing.

Myka
04-23-2011, 03:03 AM
What is the purpose of your refugium? Reduce nutrients, increase pods, decorative, ??

asylumdown
04-23-2011, 06:02 AM