PDA

View Full Version : Cyano


Baldy
04-04-2011, 12:58 AM
Hello All,

Ive finally got my cleanup crew set up, my first 2 fish introduced (2 perc clowns), and a bit of coral that hitchhiked on the LR that is doing good in my 75g tank. Its been going for about 1.5-2 months now. i had a bit of an outbreak of hair algae that seems to have subsided, and isnt growing nearly as fast anymore. But now im starting to get more and more cyano growing. it started a bit on a copuple rocks, ive cleaned it off a couple times, but now it is coverng most of the sand, and starting to move up the glass.

My water tests fine. 0 nitrates, ammonia, phos, nitrite, 8 alk, 480 calcium, 8.4 pH.

Is this just part of the process of starting a new tank? will it eventually subside?

tinman
04-04-2011, 01:52 AM
So what have you got for flow and lighting

Baldy
04-04-2011, 04:47 AM
I have a 4 bulb PC with 2 actinics and 2 daylight bulbs, and for flow i have 1 koralia 1400, 1 koralia 750 (recently switchedfrom a second 1400, but had cyano growing before i switched), a fluval 404 canister filter, and a remora C running off a maxijet 1200

JaiWiz
04-04-2011, 06:59 AM
Its all part of the cycling of the tank, flow, and lighting keep your lights to 6 hours a day or so and suck out the cyno when you do your weekly water change. and put the 1400 back in i have a 55 gal set up with 4 powerheads including the canister outlet. koralia 1050 and 1400 also i have a little aqua clear 20 in there and like i said the canister outlet and when i turn the remora pro skimmer on theres a little more flow it has a maxijet 1200 on it. lots of flow is a good good thing unless your tank is a biotope of a area with low flow. anyways give it a try

Baldy
04-04-2011, 03:23 PM
I just recently ordered a phosban 150 reactor that I'm going to set up with npx bioplastics pellets. From what I read, it causes a slight cyano outbreak while establishing. Should I wait till the algae settles down before starting the reactor?