PDA

View Full Version : Elos KH test kit

mark
03-29-2011, 07:36 PM
Really like the ease of the Salifert (rather read off a scale than count drops) but see JL no longer carrying so how's the Elos KH for use?

George
03-29-2011, 08:51 PM
Elos alkalinity test kit is using drops. One drop is 0.5 dKH. So it's pretty quick to do a test.

Really like the ease of the Salifert (rather read off a scale than count drops) but see JL no longer carrying so how's the Elos KH for use?

Megalodon
03-29-2011, 09:53 PM
My Elos kit for kH is inaccurate. It reads about 20% too low. Go with Salifert ... they sell them at OceanAquatics.

BTW, the new Elos kit for magnesium's also a joke. You get a different reading each time.

DiverDude
03-29-2011, 10:27 PM
My Elos kit for kH is inaccurate. It reads about 20% too low. Go with Salifert ... they sell them at OceanAquatics.

BTW, the new Elos kit for magnesium's also a joke. You get a different reading each time.

I'm FAR from an expert on test kits or the chemistry behind them but if I were getting different readings from the same kit, I'd be suspicious. Either the kit's gone bad, been contaminated somehow or you're doing something wrong.

I can't see how a company like Elos could produce a product that simply did not work !

Just my $0.02 worth.

globaldesigns
03-29-2011, 10:27 PM
I have always used the ELOS, very quick and easy.

asylumdown
03-29-2011, 10:29 PM
I'm a giant fan of seachem's reef status test series. The fact that you add your titrant with a 1ml syringe is awesome and makes it super clear how much you've dispensed, they also come with calibration samples.

The alk test kit also tests both borate and carbonate (indirectly) alkalinity and magnesium.

jimbo222
03-29-2011, 10:33 PM
I have three different kh kits.
Elos is always 20% too low...i dont like it maybe a bad bach

DiverDude
03-29-2011, 10:45 PM