PDA

View Full Version : advice to help prevent a cycle in a tank move

bkelly
03-20-2011, 04:40 PM
Im upgrading tanks from 75 gal to 180. Im planning on picking up the 180 which is stocked and 5 hours away then once home tearing down my 75 and transferring both systems into the 180. I will set up a temporary home for the livestock while waiting for me to do everything. If i keep the rock and sand in tank water and in the cab for the move so not too cold would i be able to re use everything and keep from having a cycle. theres also a refugium with sand so it would probably be left undisturbed and re used.

BlueWorldAquatic
03-20-2011, 04:46 PM
Do not reuse the sane, if you have to clean it thouroughly.

reuse as much as the old water as possible

Stability or start up (prodibio) would help keep the ammonia in check.

Safe Travel (Prodibio) would work, but don't think it is avalable to us.

blkhwk
03-20-2011, 04:47 PM
Im no expert but from what ive read its the sand thats the problem,stirring up the sand will release nitrates and gasses and create a spike.most ppl start with new or cleaned and thorough rinsed sand.

The Grizz
03-20-2011, 04:57 PM
Like BWA stated if you have to reuse the sand THOUROUGHLY clean the sand. I have done this a couple time's with about 30 lbs of sand, it takes a long time to do it properly. I used a large fish net and only did 2 cups at a time under very hot water.

viperfish
03-20-2011, 05:04 PM
+1 on the sand. Some good info here http://www.wetwebmedia.com/lrshippingfaqs.htm

Wayne
03-20-2011, 05:54 PM
Is the 180 going in the same place as the 75 was?

skabooya
03-20-2011, 06:01 PM
before you start tearing anything out or disturbing anything too much suck out as much water as possible and store it to use in the next tank.