PDA

View Full Version : Tiger Flex PVC 1-1/2" whats best when...

seasmurf
03-02-2011, 05:16 PM
Hi all, Thank you for reading this,

My tank(180) is drilled for 1.5" bulkheads. I think I can work with Tiger Flex PVC 1-1/2".

Is there an online source that can help me lay out my plumbing:

From over flow "herbie" (what size of gate valve do I need)

Between equipment, and for equipment mantanance purposes: what size of union fittings.

I have an idea that whats needed here is 2" joints; however, what size of barb fittings should I use?

I'm not good at plumbing. So.... help?

PS, I have observed forum pictures, Kein is especially demographic (kudos)
But I'm not 100% sure.

sphelps
03-02-2011, 05:34 PM
The tiger flex or often called "spa flex" is available locally and you don't used barb fittings with it. It glues into to standard PVC fittings just like rigid PVC pipe. If you're using 1.5" pipe just keep everything consistent and use two 1-1/2" bulkheads in your overflow and a 1-1/2" gate valve. Unions and other fittings can be 1-1/2" as well.

More details on tank size and bulkhead sizes for drains and returns would be helpful, as well as your return pump and desired flow rate.

seasmurf
03-02-2011, 05:46 PM
More details on tank size and bulkhead sizes for drains and returns would be helpful, as well as your return pump and desired flow rate.

My tank size is 180G, drains and returns are all 1.5" and my Danner Supreme Return pump is rate at 4800 gph (which I will throttle back, going to have to)

Where is a recomended vendor of spa hose in Calgary?

sphelps
03-02-2011, 05:58 PM
My tank size is 180G, drains and returns are all 1.5" and my Danner Supreme Return pump is rate at 4800 gph (which I will throttle back, going to have to)

Where is a recomended vendor of spa hose in Calgary?

I've never seen a Danner pump rated at 4800gph, what's the model number? Keep in mind you won't get anywhere near the rated output of the pump.