PDA

View Full Version : Need Some Advice

Skinner
02-02-2011, 02:53 AM
I am new to the hobby and was looking to ask a couple of questions. My tests read - Ammonia 0, Nitrite 0, Ph 8.2, Nitrate 20ppm, Phosphate 0, Calcium 400ppm. Now I think I am ready to put something in the tank. What should I add first? How many inverts and or fish can I add to my 90gal tank for the first time? I do eventually want to add corals and I have the right equipment to do it but I think I should wait until I have a mature tank. Now how do I go about bringing them home ( 3hrs away)? When I get them home what is the best way to add them to my tank? Thanks so much for any info this is the best site ever.

Skinner
02-02-2011, 10:50 PM
Wow 44 viewers and not one reply. Thanks

Aquattro
02-02-2011, 10:53 PM

New here, huh? Well, I viewed it earlier, but I'm at work and can't go into a big reply until after I get home, and now I'm not going to do that. With that kind of patience, you may not be in the right hobby.....

ensquire
02-02-2011, 11:13 PM
Only a couple of fish at a time and maybe a few shrimp, cleanup crew

Here is J&L's acclimation guide for you to reference, good reading .

http://www.jlaquatics.com/static/acclimation.htm#acclimation

Zoaelite
02-02-2011, 11:21 PM
Patience is unfathomably important in this hobby, especially when you are dealing with people who give out free helpful advice :wink:.

I would suggest having a look at the Reef keeping blog hosted by Reef Central
http://www.reefkeeping.com/joomla/index.php/reefkeeping-blog. There is some great beginner information and once you start understanding the basics the more advanced articles start making sense.

My first recommendation is to retest your parameters if at all possible, hobby test kits are highly inaccurate and can cause some problems (Including your salinity measurement if you are not using a refractometer). Don't worry about pH, Ca, Alk or Mg until you decide to start adding coral.

Are you using liverock?