PDA

View Full Version : calcium hydroxide

dunl
01-28-2011, 12:43 AM
I've done some phoning and found that UFA and Peavey Mart both carry this....has anyone used this, and can you confirm it is pure Ca(OH)2?

dunl
01-29-2011, 01:05 AM
No one?

eli@fijireefrock.com
01-29-2011, 01:24 AM
i have used it in the past.No its not pure they could supply you with spec. sheet on the product.
you could get it from RONA, and most building supplies.
if you are looking for the safer product food grade you could find it at chemical supply stores but you are paying quite the $$$ price for it.

dunl
01-30-2011, 01:29 AM
Thanks Elias. As a science teacher I have access to ordering it, but figured this must be a cheaper alternative. I was lucky enough to find this article while in the parking lot, so I picked up a 20kg bag....$13 and one cent, including taxes. That should do me a while.

http://www.advancedaquarist.com/issues/dec2003/chem.htm

CENTRAL ALBERTA REEFERS: Feel free to contact me to come and get some if you wish. I don't mind sharing if you're likewise inclined so we don't all have 20kg bags kicking around our houses. If you feel like donating a frag of shrooms or something in return, that'd be fine and lovely but not necessary. I'm willing to give up some for free. :)

dunl
01-30-2011, 01:37 AM
BTW, the stuff I picked up is :

"High calcium hydrated lime--high calcium quicklime produces a hydrated lime containing generally 72 to 74 percent calcium oxide and 23 to 24 percent chemically combined water."

MMAX
01-30-2011, 03:17 PM