PDA

View Full Version : HELP!!! NEWBIE ALERT!!!

DOMINATOR
01-26-2011, 02:52 AM
hello everyone, im totally new at this so here goes.....i just bought 2-90gallon aquariums to start my very first saltwater oasis or underwater paradise....ive got nothing...i need live rock,coral,(not expensive) and lots of tips!!! what coral will go good together, what fish can live together, etc,etc...If anyone out there feels me, HELP!

Duffer2
01-26-2011, 02:57 AM
Welcome to Canreef.

2 90's, that should be a good volume to work with. This is a great place for tips and advice.

The best advice that I didn't follow and should have when I got into this hobby is try to be really patient. For instance, I wouldn't even really think about corals for a few months at the earliest. As for fish, add them slowly, and ask lots of questions.

What type of equipement are you running (lights, skimmer, power heads)?

DOMINATOR
01-26-2011, 03:02 AM
I need to purchase a skimmer, i have a big sump and a pump...as for lights, i need advice

pyke
01-26-2011, 03:07 AM
The best advice I can give is take it slow and buy everything used if possible. It can be an overwhelming if you try to buy everything new. Also dont put fish in your tank that aren't in the long term plans. I had three four bar Damsels in my tank for cycling and when I wanted to catch them I had to remove every last peice of rock to catch them. over 250lbs (that was a fun day).

What do you have for equipment? you would be amazed at the equipment people have on this site collecting dust.

Twinn
01-26-2011, 03:07 AM
The biggest piece of advise I can give you is to plan ahead. What do you want for coral SPS, LPS, Softies and mixed reef. Do you want lots of fish or just a few. This will help you to decide lighting, skimmer ect.

DOMINATOR
01-26-2011, 03:09 AM
All of that equipment sounds amazing? Do i need all of that?

Aquattro
01-26-2011, 03:24 AM
All of that equipment sounds amazing? Do i need all of that?