PDA

View Full Version : Salt water aquarium glass

corrosionjerry
01-21-2011, 11:41 PM
Ok this is the question... I am new to saltwater so this may sound a bit silly...

I am in the process of choosing a tank / thinking 55-75G

Can I use a freshwater aquarium ... is there any difference in the thickness of galss between freshwater and saltwater tanks?

reefwars
01-21-2011, 11:57 PM
Ok this is the question... I am new to saltwater so this may sound a bit silly...

I am in the process of choosing a tank / thinking 55-75G

Can I use a freshwater aquarium ... is there any difference in the thickness of galss between freshwater and saltwater tanks?

you can use a freshwater tank no prob there is no difference in glass as its done by the amount of water it will hold and over what span.i would make sure that the freshwater tank has been cleaned good and absolutely can never of had copper used in it for medications,the silicone soaks it up and leaches into the saltwater.

if you get a freshwater tank get it drilled theres lots of people who will do it and youll be thanking yourself everyday that you do:) cheers jerry buddy:)

corrosionjerry
01-22-2011, 12:12 AM
Thanks for the advice / I am starting to think I should be getting a tank built... with it being drilled as you suggest / I am not all that keen on going the route of an overflow the more I think about things...:idea:

any suggestion of how it should be drilled?

I want the tank to be about L48 x W16 x H20

reefwars
01-22-2011, 12:22 AM