PDA

View Full Version : kien's Ecoxotic Panorama 36 LED Retrofit review

kien
01-17-2011, 04:47 AM
Okay, so I recently got one of these fancy schmancy new LED retrofit kits to play around with. Mostly I was curious because I'm quite new to this whole LED scene. I was surprised that to find that there weren't too many reviews on these units. Well, here's my completely unscientific review.

The Box:

Ya, not very exciting. It is a brown box.

http://i1002.photobucket.com/albums/af144/muzanji/IMG_0868.jpg

In The Box:

It does get a little bit more exciting once you open up the box and if you get one, I highly recommend that you do open the box. Inside you'll find a power unit and the LED retrofit itself.

http://i1002.photobucket.com/albums/af144/muzanji/IMG_0869.jpg

The LED fixture measures roughly 8" by 9" and is attached to a heat sink. The LEDs are covered with a plastic to help protect it and to help diffuse the light.

http://i1002.photobucket.com/albums/af144/muzanji/IMG_0877.jpg

http://i1002.photobucket.com/albums/af144/muzanji/IMG_0872.jpg

As far as build quiality, this thing is pretty solid. No loose parts. It is sealed quite well to prevent moisture from getting in.

http://i1002.photobucket.com/albums/af144/muzanji/IMG_0876.jpg

http://i1002.photobucket.com/albums/af144/muzanji/IMG_0875.jpg

http://i1002.photobucket.com/albums/af144/muzanji/IMG_0874.jpg

http://i1002.photobucket.com/albums/af144/muzanji/IMG_0870.jpg

http://i1002.photobucket.com/albums/af144/muzanji/IMG_0873.jpg

But how does it look on the tank??

Right, so the unit is sexy, no doubt about that. Time to throw this bad boy over the tank and see what we get. For comparison sake, here is a full tank shot of my tank with just my centre metal halide on. It is a 250watt Phoenix 14K driven by a Galaxy ballast.

Halide:
http://i1002.photobucket.com/albums/af144/muzanji/IMG_0880-1.jpg

LED:
http://i1002.photobucket.com/albums/af144/muzanji/IMG_0887-1.jpg