PDA

View Full Version : Is this a good deal??

imslow
12-24-2003, 05:20 AM
Hi all,
I have just found a Coralife 175 w metal halide set...it comes in a 48 inch fixtures with 2 10 000k bulb(the person says they are Radium but i dont know bout that because i didnt see any words that said Radium on it but mind you I'm new to this hobby so wouldnt know a Radium light when I see it) it also comes with 2 actinics in the fixtures...its all wired up and all....They are willing to part it for $550...It is in pretty good condition...Still has warrenty on it..It is three months old...Is this a good deal????

StirCrazy
12-24-2003, 06:47 AM
I have never seen a 175 watt radium befor but maybe some one else has?

I would double check on the brand and/or wattage but it isn't a bad deal.

Steve

Quinn
12-24-2003, 06:56 AM
Of course if it's a 10,000k bulb then it couldn't really be a Radium anyways, could it?

LostMind
12-24-2003, 08:01 AM
hmmm, sounds like a hood I bought at King eds for $700 when I started in the hobby 7 months ago.

Justin
12-24-2003, 04:29 PM
The hood your talking about is at King Ed's right?

If so look at the base of the bulbs, where the metal screw part meets the glass. If it looks like a mirror there, they are Radium.

Yes there are 175W, 10K Radium bulbs. I listed this fixture in the classifieds, but the buyer backed out so it got traded in at King Eds.

IMO and in the opinion of many knowledgable people Radium bulbs are top of the line. a 175W 10K Radium bulb retails for $199.99 a piece, so I would say $550 for the fixture with the bulbs is a good deal. The bulbs are brand new, only test fired for 3 seconds to make sure they work. Hood was purchased new Sept.19th 2003 from Big Al's.

Namscam
12-24-2003, 07:26 PM
at king eds hmmm..maybe i should check that out...hey justin how much worth of equipment did they trade for that???

Justin
12-24-2003, 07:30 PM
$600 store credit plus applicable taxes, so like $687? They are selling it cheaper then they got it.