PDA

View Full Version : Calling Zoanthid Experts!

Myka
12-25-2010, 07:48 PM
I'm no Zoa expert by far, and my Zoa tank is anything but a display! :redface: I'm looking to improve, and I'm thinking it might be the light that's causing the most distress here. I think I have underestimated these Zoas and Palys by thinking they would flourish in lower light conditions. :neutral:

Currently using Hagen Glo 2x24w T5HO fixture with UVL 454 bulb and AquaScience 15,000K bulb. It actually isn't as blue as it sounds being about 18,000K visually.

I'm not looking to spend a bunch of money on this tank, it's more of a sidebar than the full script, ya know? :p So, I'm looking at the Fishneedit fixtures. Reviews say they're pretty reliable, and a decent bang for the buck, so they seem fairly suitable for my intended use.

The tank is 20 gallons 24x13.5x16" in a trophy/tulip shape (use link in signature if you want to see pics), so handy as it is a 24" fixture will fit. I put a built-in overflow/sump in the back corner which is about 12x3" so using a 4-bulb T5 fixture would leave half of one bulb partially lighting the overflow.

I can only rely on fans to keep the tank cool. Not a lot of bulb choice in 70w, but I am worried about a 150w cooking the tank with the small water volume. I would definitely use a 20,000K halide bulb. I like the color manipulation of T5s, and I think the tank would look best with T5s.

So anyway...what do you guys think? 70w halide? 150w halide? 4x24w T5? I'm leaning towards the T5s.

Zoaelite
12-25-2010, 08:11 PM
I would personally go with the T5's I had my collection under halides for a short period but was never really happy with how they looked. T5's give you that real blue color pop, the 4 bulb fixture would work perfect, I might even go 3 actinic and 1 day light.

What are you using for flow in the tank right now?

Myka
12-25-2010, 09:19 PM