PDA

View Full Version : Aquasafe RO/DI?

Reef-Geek
11-21-2010, 05:05 AM
Hi, I am about to buy a decent RO/DI unit, I have a 34 gallon tank and I usually do 5 gallon water change every 2 week. I am checking the aquasafe's website and they seem to have a pretty decent price for a 7 stage ro/di unit.
http://www.aquasafecanada.com/aquariumsystem.html

Has any one tried it? is it any good? what is the TDS reading(I am new to water chemistry,is tds the only standard for filtered water)?
The shipping is about 16 dollars to Vancouver, and their unit is on sale for 129.20(do I need to buy anything else except the unit itself?). What do you guys think?

christyf5
11-21-2010, 05:08 AM
I have an aquasafe unit i bought off ebay about 7 years ago, best investment I ever made. I continue to buy replacement filters from them as well as they're the best deal I've found so far :biggrin:

Reef-Geek
11-21-2010, 05:23 AM
Do you know if the price($129) including the filter media? how long can the orginal media last?

PoonTang
11-21-2010, 06:18 AM
I believe they say at a usage rate of 2-3 gal per day the filters last about a year.

Lampshade
11-21-2010, 06:50 AM
I have one and it's pretty good, the fittings are an adventure to set up to not leak, use lots of Teflon. The unit itself works great though, easy to get cartriges as well. As for the price, when i got mine there was 2 options, one came with all the needed media, the other came with a bunch extra for a few changes.

mark
11-21-2010, 03:51 PM
Using a Aquasafe for about 5 years. Removed the post carbon filter, replaced my membrane once, try to replace my pre-filters about every 6 months and DI lasts about a year. Other maintenance is replaced the ASOV a couple of times and one check valve.

Not including water changes due evap use about 2 gpd. No leaks and I'm happy with it.

christyf5
11-21-2010, 03:53 PM
Do you know if the price($129) including the filter media? how long can the orginal media last?