PDA

View Full Version : Koralia Wavemaker

plutoniumJoe
11-13-2010, 03:10 PM
I have been playing around with Arduinos for a couple of years now and have big plans for building some type of aquarium controller that is web enabled. These plans usually surface at night over a couple of beers and fade by morning but this little one stuck, probably because it was easy.

*** Disclaimer -- This project deals with electricity and if you are foolish enough to try it you accept all consequences.

I used the following instructables to get the basic idea. http://www.instructables.com/id/Yet-Another-Arduino-110v-Power-Controller/

The pictures are actually of my Wavemaker -- Doser combined but for this DIY I will explain just the Wavemaker portion.

List of ingredients:
Arduino - Mine is a duemilanove but anyone will due.
1 Deep receptacle box. Rona or HD
Face Plate
1 Receptacle
1 5v Relay (Lee's Electronics on Main)
Wire - I used cat5
2 Koralia Evolution Power Heads

I ended up taking all the pictures once the project was done as I didn't think to share until I was about finished and thought "I wonder if anyone else would want to do this?"

plutoniumJoe
11-13-2010, 03:13 PM
The first thing I did was mount the receptacle onto the faceplate then I removed the tab on the receptacle that joins the brass hot posts.

http://i635.photobucket.com/albums/uu72/jgalat/DIY%20Projects/tab.jpg
The picture shows two receptacles with 3 relays but you only need the one of each for this project.

The next step was to mount using 5 minute epoxy the 5v Relay on the back of the receptacle.

plutoniumJoe
11-13-2010, 03:27 PM
Attach the common wire or white wire from your cord to the silver posts on the receptacle this tab should be intact or else you have to connect the white to both silver posts.