PDA

View Full Version : Betta Breeders

Bugsy
11-01-2010, 06:11 PM
Hello I am looking for Betta Breeders in the Okanagan Area.

I would also consider anywhere else in Canada too.

Thanks....:mrgreen:

BlueWorldAquatic
11-01-2010, 07:07 PM
If you are looking for high end stuff, do a search for BC bettas, I used to sell them stuff.

Ken

Bugsy
11-02-2010, 01:43 AM
Thanks for your reply. BC Bettas has been out of business for quite a few years now.

:biggrin:

zenafish
11-03-2010, 04:46 PM
What are you looking for? To obtain stock, or to connect with other breeders?

Not too many people are actively breeding bettas now. There isn't enough return in the hobby for the fish they breed, and to many it's simply too much work. Myself being one of them. I've been transhipping Aquabid bettas for the last two years, and recently I had to call it quit even with Hung's tons of help because we're not making any money.

To connect with other people in the betta breeding hobby, I'd suggest you look up Betta Breeders Canada. You need to pay for memebership for both that club and IBC (international betta congress), but the handful of people there are good. Here is another Canadian group of people who breed bettas and this forum is free (http://www.atfreeforum.com/bettasplendens/) and finally, to connect with a wider N.American betta fan base, the best place to go would be Ultimate Bettas (also free).

HTH.

Bugsy
11-04-2010, 02:41 AM
Thank you very much for your reply. You know its funny that you say that about breeding bettas. I have been doing lots of looking on different sites and it seems that there is just a flood of people breeding the Halfmoons right now. The other thing that concerns me as you mentioned is placing these fish in new homes when you end up with a hundred or so.