PDA

View Full Version : Best bang for the buck activated carbon ?

andestang
10-28-2010, 05:47 AM
Just curious what people are using for activated carbon. Whats the best bang for the buck with keeping in mind for being used in a SPS/LPS system. Do you use a reactor or just a filter sock ?

christyf5
10-28-2010, 10:48 AM
best carbon I ever used was rox but its a bugger to get around here and is pricey. I currently use Kent in a reactor and it gets the job done nicely, i've been using Kent for about 3 years now.

PoonTang
10-28-2010, 11:11 AM
best carbon I ever used was rox but its a bugger to get around here and is pricey. I currently use Kent in a reactor and it gets the job done nicely, i've been using Kent for about 3 years now.

That's not a good sign seeing you up at this time of night. :(

mark
10-28-2010, 12:45 PM
If you believe the packaging, they all figure they're the best. How can the hobbyist measure?

BlueTang<3
10-28-2010, 01:04 PM
I use the bulk reef supply rox carbon run it in a two little fishes reactor with some nylon at the top to hold it in it is tiny stuff. But it by the 5 gallon pail and it works out to be pretty cheap. I bought half a pail last time about a year ago still got a lot left. I run 1 small cup changed out every 2 weeks or when i fell:redface:.

http://www.bulkreefsupply.com/store/products/carbon-and-gfo/bulk-carbon/rox-0-8-high-performance-carbon/15-pounds-5-gallons-premium-rox-0-8-aquarium-carbon.html

michika
10-28-2010, 01:23 PM
I use Rox and a reactor. I love the stuff!

kien
10-28-2010, 02:16 PM
Rox from a 5 gal pail. Got it last jan and hardly seems like I've made a dent in it! I use about a cup a month. Run in TLF reactor. If you are curious to try some you can have some of mine if you like. My pail will probably last a few years :LOL:

Delphinus
10-28-2010, 03:23 PM
+1 on the Rox. It rocks! No really, it rocks. Rox rocks. I realize I sound like an idiot but I really mean it.