PDA

View Full Version : A quick Vortech question to the pros out there...


ner'T'
10-26-2010, 02:45 AM
1st question:

Is a MP10 Vortech ES the same as MP10W Vortech ES?

I know the "W" is wireless, aside from that do they share all of the same wave modes?

I want to run it in 20x20x24high tank and maybe a 24x24x16 in the near future. Will one do the job well?

2nd Question:

Will I regret it if I don't get the "W" model?

I'm in no rush to have $600 of powerheads in my less then amazing reef...


Thanks to all for any input!!!!

Cheers

phi delt reefer
10-26-2010, 02:52 AM
1st question:

Is a MP10 Vortech ES the same as MP10W Vortech ES?

I know the "W" is wireless, aside from that do they share all of the same wave modes?

I want to run it in 20x20x24high tank and maybe a 24x24x16 in the near future. Will one do the job well?

2nd Question:

Will I regret it if I don't get the "W" model?

I'm in no rush to have $600 of powerheads in my less then amazing reef...


Thanks to all for any input!!!!

Cheers

the W is for wireless. you can sync/anti sync multiple vortech "w" pumps if they are all wireless. The sync/anti sync makes the pumps work together or against each other to create bigger waves. Check out some youtube videos to see the pumps in action when running together. If you are only getting one pump then just get the regular es.

you can upgrade and es to a wes via a RF module - vortech sells it themselves on their site though some retailers carry it as well - its about 50-75US

number of pumps is heavily dependent on placement and how much rock you have. if you have very little rock than one pump can effectively move the water around the entire tank. The MP10's are more popular on the 10-30 gallon systems - many run an mp40 or two mp10s on anything bigger.

mike31154
10-26-2010, 02:59 AM
One MP10ES should do the job nicely in that size tank and yes, aside from not having the wireless capability, the ES provides all the same wave modes as the W ES. Since one will do the job on your tank, you can save a few $ by getting the non wireless model. More or less goes without saying that there's no need for wireless communication unless you're running more than one VorTech. If and when you upsize the tank and find you need more than one, you can purchase the wireless module for your MP10 ES driver and bingo, you have a wireless capable pump.

Check the EcoTech web site, all that info should be there.

Ha, ha, looks like phi delt got in there before me with much the same info... BTW, I run two MP40W ES in my 4 foot 77.

ner'T'
10-26-2010, 05:19 PM
Thanks for all the info guys!


Sounds like 1 Mp10 ES is where I will head.

Cheers!

Rogue951
11-26-2010, 01:53 AM
I went to J&L today, bought 1 MP10 non wireless and I never expected this amount of water movement from that little prop. lol.
I have a 40 gallon breeder and everything's moving.
It'll take a while to play with the modes and see what works nice.