PDA

View Full Version : Just an update on the yellow polyps.

Bob I
05-23-2002, 08:10 PM
I put that yellow polyp rock into my nano. There are no Astrea snails in that tank. At last count there were still 10 polyps. There was a frilly mushroom close to them ,and where it touched the polyps stayed closed, so I removed it. That tank gets spray dried phytoplankton because I have Featerdusters in it. Should I feed them something else? :confused:

Delphinus
05-23-2002, 08:58 PM
I seriously doubt the astrea was after the polyps. Even if it did bump into them, you'd think they'd only be temporaily closed up.

Now, the mushroom, on the other hand, is (to me, anyways), a potentially big smoking gun. I have no experience with the type of mushroom you have, but I can say that with the ones that I have, very few things are able to compete with them for space. Mushrooms show no obvious means of aggression, yet whatever they touch, tends to do poorly. Don't even think about letting mushrooms touch SPS! It's amazing how fast some SPS melt away from mushrooms. Even some of my LPS that are supposedly "aggressive" such as my bubble coral, my (now long-dead :( ) torch, have started to suffer when confronted by encroaching mushrooms. I know, I should give these guys a break, some people like mushrooms and they're perfect corals for some tanks.