PDA

View Full Version : Substrate.....or no substrate?

sharky222
09-23-2010, 03:28 AM
Hi everyone,

I am a complete newbie -- my 100g tank arrives in a few days. A few more days to troll this site and learn more stuff.....!

The folks at my LFS are strongly of the opinion that it is not necessary to use a substrate of any type, and in fact using a substrate can cause more problems than it is worth. All of their tanks have a bare bottom (so to speak), which doesn't look great, but I am tempted to try this (I found a roll of sand-printed drawer-liner that I'll tape underneath the tank to solve the aesthetic problem!).

Would be curious to know if this is good advice, or not.....does it make sense to start out substrate-free?

reefwars
09-23-2010, 03:32 AM
without a sandbed you limit yourself to livestock as alot of things need and thrive from the sand, plus its home to alot of beneficial bacteria.if not maintained a sandbed can be your worse nightmare.alot of reefers go bb me personally i love the sand look :):)

mattdean
09-23-2010, 03:35 AM
Personally, I think substrate looks more natural. the only reason a sand bed can cause problems is if it's not maintained properly. If you do a shallow bed, just siphon it out when you do water changes. No big deal. Also, there are great cleaners like Nasarius Snails that stir the sand bed up.

Even with NO sand bed, you must keep detritus off the bottom glass, so it's pretty much the same.

Do what you think looks best, but research it and make sure you are avoiding potential problems.

Good luck

sharky222
09-23-2010, 03:41 AM
Re: no substrate, and limiting livestock....if I go "bare bottom" can I still have shrimps and starfish and such?

I also think sand looks better. But these guys at the LFS swear by no-substrate, so it got me thinking.

reefwars
09-23-2010, 04:01 AM