PDA

View Full Version : My reef Experience so far.

Sean
09-22-2010, 03:29 PM
Hey Guys,

I'm still in the process of learning things with this hobby but I thought id share my experience for reference sakes. :)

I'm not really good at testing my water levels, but I have been keeping up with my water changes and I look for signs to help me figure out when something is off. 1 thing I have notice is that my Toad Stool mushrooms is great for letting me know when something might be off in my tank.

The other thing I have experienced is that my LPS seem to be doing very well in comparison to my softies. I held off as long as I could from buying these corals as I heard they were more of a challenge. I slowly caved and started adding them to my tank and I have had more success with them then my softies. I still haven't had any sucess with Colts and Zoo's, I was thinking of trying again but for now i'm addicted to my LPS.

Does anyone think that maybe my tank is too small with my experience to hold both types of coral together? something to consider when starting into the hobby.

Happy Reefing :)

Rbacchiega
09-22-2010, 08:33 PM
what size tank? Mixing corals isn't USUALLY a problem so long as there's space enough between conflicitng corals, and proper water conditions are maintained... It all depends on what type of look you're going for really. LPS dominant, Softy dominant etc...mixed reefs are not uncommon at all and they can be done in small aquariums, just take a little more thought and planning out.

Sean
09-22-2010, 08:48 PM