PDA

View Full Version : New system need advice on Best Timer and Fuge Lighting setup.

Fellow
09-20-2010, 08:12 PM
With my new tank I upgraded my lights but unfortunately this fixture does not have a handy built in timer like my last one.

The new fixture has two power cords one for each bank of lights. I am looking for a single timer that will allow me to run both banks on separate schedules. Anyone swear by their timer enough to recommend it?

Also what are all of you using to light your fuge? I am moving from a sumpless system so I am looking for a safe solution for lighting my fuge?

Shoddy cell picture of my new setup: http://i854.photobucket.com/albums/ab104/FellowPhoto/th_IMG_0711.jpg (http://s854.photobucket.com/albums/ab104/FellowPhoto/?action=view&current=IMG_0711.jpg)

Sunee
09-20-2010, 10:18 PM
I have been using a Coralife timer for about 2 1/2 years and have had no problems with it and it was reasonably priced. My only complaint is having to reset the time for daylight savings time. I got it from J&L, tried to get you the link but I can't connect to their website. It is the one with the two timer dials at each end of the bar.

ILIKECOUGARS
09-20-2010, 10:49 PM
I would stay away from coralife timers, there not worth the money you pay for them. I had a coralife dual timer, and it crap out in about 8 months. Look at Wallmart for timers, why paid for a coralife brand name when walmart has the same timer for far less of the price that you will pay for a coralife timer. For fuge lighting I would pick up a clip-on lamp holder with a 6500k cf flood bulb

bvlester
09-20-2010, 11:07 PM