PDA

View Full Version : two part doser vs calcium reactor

Ryanst
09-20-2010, 02:43 AM
I have come to the point with my tank that I need to get either a calcium reactor or dosing pumps but I have never used either one before. I was just woundering what some of your opinions were on them, like which one worked better, more reliable, cheaper, easier to set up, ect.

mark
09-20-2010, 03:12 AM
might mean something that people are switching from reactors to dosers

scherzo
09-20-2010, 03:14 AM
http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=66438

Here is the recent poll with some comments that may be helpful.

christyf5
09-20-2010, 03:25 AM
For the inital outlay I would say they're likely about the same price. Good luck finding a used doser (although I could swear I just saw one on here, ah yes, here (http://www.canreef.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=68134&highlight=doser) it is) but used calcium reactors can be found for good prices.

For the running of the reactor versus doser its likely that the doser will cost you more in the long run depending on what kind of demands your tank has. For me, I had incredible CO2 demands (had to fill the tank every couple months at 20 bucks a fill) and never figured out whether that was just the way the reactor was or if I had some sort of issue with it. The previous reactor I had was perfectly fine. I spent probably $50 a year on CO2 (10lb tank 1.5 fills (every 9 months or so)) and $30 a year on a box of aragonite media (it got sludgy after a year so I always replaced it instead of dumping new on top). For the doser hmm, I'd say about $150 a year or so on media (possibly more depending on where you get it from).