PDA

View Full Version : Explain this!

Aquattro
11-29-2003, 09:02 PM
All the burnt area is towards the outside of the holder. The wiring is fine. Hmm...

http://www.islandreef.ca/post/fire.jpg

Aquattro
11-29-2003, 09:03 PM
Oh, for those that don't recognize it, it's an Icecap waterproof end cap

Samw
11-29-2003, 09:07 PM
Geezus. That has been happening A LOT lately. That's why I am scared to leave my VHO's on when I go to work.

Have you read this thread Brad?

http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=250465&highlight=icecap+and+fire

Many believe it's from the arcing that is caused when the endcaps are too far apart from each other which causes the connection to be loose.

Bob I
11-29-2003, 09:32 PM
As an electrician I have seen that numerous times. It is clearly a heating problem. I have to ask if the tube is in contact with the burnt area. If so it being VHO there is lots of heat. It looks like the material is not proper for the amount of heat. In which case the fault lies with Icecap. :eek:

Aquattro
11-29-2003, 09:46 PM
Bob, the bulb is not in contact with the cap. And this particular bulb has been in use for almost a year with no problems. The other side is fine. The cap also has a distinct burnt smell, which I don't think would exist if it just melted from heat. I really have no idea though, so you could be right. I haven't read that thread about arcing yet, so maybe something there will help.

Samw
11-29-2003, 10:10 PM
I haven't read that thread about arcing yet, so maybe something there will help.

Start reading then...

4 separate incidences from the first page alone:

"The smoke alarm went off and when I looked, there was the end of the VHO ON FIRE!! with the plastic endcap plastic dripping flames "