PDA

View Full Version : SPS loss of colour, Why?

Jason McK
11-27-2003, 03:53 AM
here it is day 1
http://www.canreef.com/photopost/data/500/537Crop_Blue_Acro.jpg?2366

and a couple of weeks later
http://www.canreef.com/photopost/data/504/537blue_acro2.jpg?7144

Anyone have any reason why it would loose it's colour so quickly.
it's under 2x250W 6500K and 2x100W VHO Atinic.
I will admit I have been fighting with low ALK and CA but nothing crazy
ALK low at 7.0dKH
CA low at 350

Thanks
Jason

Aquattro
11-27-2003, 03:57 AM
Was this a wild frag? Often they will brown out and color up again later on.

Jason McK
11-27-2003, 04:00 AM
Thanks to Wendell and Jack @ Ocean Aquatics for that score!!! :biggrin:

I've never done a comparison like this before it's nice to see some growth

J

Thanks for the quick reply

Samw
11-27-2003, 04:54 AM
Wow, that's extreme. My acros (I don't have that particular teal one) lose color because of high nutrients. Don't think that's your case though. Could be just the color temperature of your lighting then.

I wonder how everyone else's acro from the same colony is doing? Anyone else's kept that color?

One_Divided
11-27-2003, 05:39 AM
I agree with Brad..

It will probably regain its colour when growth starts to take off

sumpfinfishe
11-27-2003, 08:03 AM
That's weird Jason :confused:
I took a few images of the tank, and had one shot with the same frag.
My piece has retainned it's color so far, it's also been feeding at night on golden pearls and is about 3" below the water surface.

http://www3.telus.net/sumpfinfishe/images/11-25-3acros.jpg

LostMind
11-28-2003, 02:08 AM
Dunno if you read this before but I was just doing some reading and came across this at reefkeeping.

-----
Myth 5: The "K" rating of aquarium lamps plays an important role in the coloration of corals.
Myth 6: Corals are colorful because of their symbiotic zooxanthellae.