PDA

View Full Version : Tank on second floor.

Seth72
08-04-2010, 03:14 AM
Hi,I am just starting out in this hobby and I am sure I will have lots of questions along the way,any time anyone takes to awnser them I am thankfull for.

So this is my first question. My tank is 120 gallon 48x24x24, with a 30 gallon sump.Total 150 gallon.It will be on a wood stand so the weight is dispersed evenly over the 16 square feet of the tank.It will be placed beside an outside wall running against the joists,(should cover three).The home is 4 years old.
Now I did read all the articals i could find ,so im not waisting your time,What i would like to know now is some real life examples.

So if anybody could leave examples of the size of tanks that they currently have on there second floors above the basement and any problems you have encountered if any.

Thanks in advance guys:)

sean2477
08-04-2010, 03:20 AM
Ive got my 135 gallon with a 40 gallon sump on the second floor of my house and have had no problem.

monocus
08-04-2010, 04:00 AM
think of a fridge sitting on 2-3 joists and the weight-the joists will take a lot of live weight no problem-especialy alongside a outer wall

Seth72
08-04-2010, 04:15 AM
think of a fridge sitting on 2-3 joists and the weight-the joists will take a lot of live weight no problem-especialy alongside a outer wall

I dont think my fridge with just a bottle of mustard in it weighs that much:lol:

No, but it is really serious weight we are talking about 1600 pounds,but ive already decided to do it,I just wanted to know if anybody has had any problems running tanks above 90 gallons on the second floor.

Its really hard to find good advice in this hobby,for example,i wasnt even going to buy a tank because i refused to have the heat and power bills from hilade lighting and everyone was saying 6 watts to ten watts per gallon and i figured no way am i going to run 700 watts of lighting for a fish tank.