PDA

View Full Version : water topoff

mytank90
07-30-2010, 12:34 AM
i am getting tired of haveing reset my skimmer and haveing salinity move around and looking to get a topoff system going .thinking i will try the tunze one .i have enough room for roughly a 10 gallon tank if custum build or i could buy a 5.5 gallon one from self .would bigger one be better or does size realy matter for topoff ?also do you need run a small wave maker in one to keep water moveing?right now i loss about 3 to 4 gallons a week to evaporation

whatcaneyedo
07-30-2010, 06:01 AM
Some people have problems with the Tunze Osmolator pumps from time to time but I've been using one for a few years and never had an issue with it. They're a great system in my opinion. There are also plenty of threads on this site about ATO systems so do a search and decide for yourself if a Tunze is right for you or if you want to save some money and do something simpler.

The larger your freshwater container the less often you'll have to top it off... thats the only difference I can think of.

There is no reason to have a circulation pump in your freshwater container.

mike31154
07-30-2010, 06:12 AM
Gravity feed with a mechanical float valve is the simplest, if you have the room to hide the container, or if having it visible above the sump is not a problem. As far as the size of the top off container, the only caution I would add is, if there's any kind of shut off valve failure, you run the risk of dumping too much fresh water into your system too quickly. Since you only lose 3-4 gal per week, I'd say a 5 gal container would be a good starting point.

jostafew
09-30-2010, 09:18 PM
I'm running a hyrbid ATO system using the JBJ controller, a 12vDC power supply and the pump from the Tunze osmolator (all innexpensive). Works awesome. Bought the JBJ controller used and has been running for 6 months without any problems (I know some people have complained about reliability problems with JBJ ATO).