PDA

View Full Version : drilling and over flow boxes

othicx
07-25-2010, 05:35 AM
is there anyone here in Red Deer that knows how to drill tanks and make overflow boxes? Also can anyone help me make a sump setup? I'm new to SW and i have no idea on how to build a sump. Anyway my tank is a 220 Gallon and all i have right now is the tank and stand. so I'm wanting as much help as i can to setup a sump for a cheap as i can without loosing quality. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you

Llamarama
08-09-2010, 04:30 PM
sorry can't help you but let me kow if you find anyone who knows....I have a 90 I need to drill and build a sump for...maybe we can help each other! haha

NanoHuman
08-09-2010, 05:22 PM
It is easy to drill your own tank if you have the nerve for it. Go to the home depot and buy a diamond coated hole saw (they are expensive) or you can use a dremel and a diamond coated cutter (the hole will not be as perfect doing it this way).

I purchased my overflow box from http://www.glass-holes.com/

They do very good work and have guides on their site regarding drilling your tank.

Coventina
01-26-2011, 12:56 AM
Have you drilled your tank yet? I have a kit from gl*******s and plan to do it in the next few weeks. Just wondering if there are any tips since the last post?

Cal_stir
01-26-2011, 01:06 AM
google drilling aquarium tank, there's alot of videos, i've done it many times.
use a drill with an adjustable clutch, set very low in case the saw binds.
DON'T drill tempered panels, they will shatter.
go slow

othicx
01-26-2011, 01:08 AM
Haha ya it has been drilled for quite a while, thanks though. I actually had help with it so it turned out nice, it wasn't hard you just have to take your time with it and it should be ok. You just want to make sure your glass isn't tempered

The Grizz
01-26-2011, 01:21 AM
Have you drilled your tank yet? I have a kit from gl*******s and plan to do it in the next few weeks. Just wondering if there are any tips since the last post?